Skip to main content

Land Compensation Made Following Ombudsman Intervention

Four residents of Naivasha were compensated by the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited (KETRACO) following the intervention of the Commission in a case of inordinate delay.

The four; John Kiragu, Haron Njenga, David Njihia, and Isaac Kiruri, complained to the Commission alleging delay by KETRACO to settle dues owed as compensation following the compulsory acquisition of portions from their respective land parcels in Mwichiringiri Block 4 adjudication section in Naivasha, Nakuru County, for the construction of the Olkaria-Lessos-Kisumu 400/220kv transmission line project.

The Commission by way of inquiry took up the matter with the Chief Executive Officer, KETRACO, leading to payment of their dues amounting to Kshs. 3,200,000.